China - EU Exchange Project 'Experiencing Europe' - Year 1 Project - From 21-28 October, a chamber ensemble of 11 EUYO members will be in Shanghai for the first project of the three-year Experience Europe programme, sponsored by the EU Delegation to China. The aim of the programme is to foster understanding between China and the EU. The 11 travelling EUYO members will play side by side with young Chinese musicians from the EUYO’s Global Exchange Partner, the Shanghai Orchestra Academy. This is an exciting opportunity to bring together musicians from different cultures to learn and exchange approaches to performance, form musical friendships, and deepen understanding across the world. The October project will include rehearsals, cultural exchange sessions and workshops from EUYO tutors. The project will culminate in a concert at 7.45pm on Friday 27 October 2017, at the Chamber Hall of the recently constructed and much praised Shanghai Symphony Hall building. 



Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart Serenade No.12 for winds in C minor, K.388 (1st Mvt)

Steve Reich Drumming (Part 1: 4 pairs of tuned bongo drums)

Maurice Ravel Introduction et Allegro for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartet

Pyotr Illych Tchaikovsky String Sextet in D minor, Op.70 "Souvenir de Florence"



                                                                     undefined      undefined


EUYO brass and percussion ensemble: Asturias, Spain - The EUYO’s brass and percussion ensemble will perform in a variety of locations throughout Asturias during October in the days leading up to a special ceremony in honour of the Princess of Asturias award for Concord which was bestowed upon the European Union in June 2017. The ceremony will take place on Friday 20 October in Oviedo, Asturias, Spain in the presence of His Majesty, King Felipe VI. The EUYO brass and percussion ensemble will perform as part of the cultural celebrations taking place in Oviedo in the week leading up to the ceremony.

The Princess of Asturias award for Concord was established on 24 September 1980 by Felipe, Prince of Asturias, then heir to the throne of Spain, "to consolidate links between the Principality and the Prince of Asturias, and to contribute to, encourage and promote scientific, cultural and humanistic values that form part of mankind's universal heritage."The jury granted the award to the EU, on the 60th anniversary of the signing of the Treaty of Rome, for the union’s collaboration in the implementation and spreading of “values such as freedom, human rights and solidarity”.

The EUYO are truly delighted and honoured to be invited to celebrate the award which pays tribute to a united Europe which has upheld values of freedom, democracy, equality and respect for human rights for over 60 years.



Celebrating Europe 

Claudio Monteverdi Prologue to Orfeo

William Byrd The Earle of Oxford's March

Tielman Susato Suite


Anton Bruckner Motet Locus Iste

Giovanni Gabrieli Sonata Pian'e Forte



Giuseppe Verdi Overture to Nabucco 

Jim Parker A Londoner in New York 

Anon. Carnival of Venice, arranged Elgar Howarth